At the corner of the Dipolog City Hall, which is just across the Magsaysay Park you will see a monument or statue of three (3) men. They are said to be the three prominent pioneer leaders of Dipolog City. Their first mayor, their first priest and a farmer.

Eugenio Redulla Margate (1886-1963)[Right]
A farnmer for 25 years. He discovered the Margate System of planting rice. Authored the "Humay", 100 Kabanes Matag Hektarya," Declared by free press as "Man of the year" 1954 served as technical assistant in the field of agriculture during the administration of President Ramon Magsaysay and Carlos P. Garcia

Rev. Fr. Nicasio Yebes Patangan (1897-1967)[Middle]
First Filipino Diocesan priest from Mindanao. Appointed parish priest of Dipolog on May 1940 and served as the spiritual shepherd of the Dipolognons until his death in 1967.

Hon. Fiscal Tan Martinez (1892-1947)[Left]
Appointed by General John Pershing, Governer of the Department of Mindanao as the 1st Municipal Mayor of Dipolog (1912-1918). He was later elected Municipal Mayor in 1918 following the first General election of Dipolog and served until 1921. 

Check out other DIPOLOG CITY Posts here.

For further information please contact:
City Tourism Office, City Hall 7100 Dipolog City
Tel. No. (6365) 212-2485
Telefax: (6365) 212-4234


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Popular posts from this blog

10 Most visited destinations in Iligan City

Cebu City | Patria de Cebu - Accommodation

Misamis Oriental | Alibuag Cold Spring - Medina